Sunday, July 14, 2024

21st Surrey Police Officer Of The Year Awards

10 Oct, 2017

The Surrey Board of Trade’s 21st Annual Surrey Police Officer of the Year Awards was held on Thursday, October 5 at the Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel. The presenting sponsors were the BC Lottery Corporation and Commissionaires BC, with speaker sponsor Tim Hortons and media sponsor the Surrey NOW-Leader Newspaper.


“The relationship between business and the RCMP is important because we are both working towards a healthy and safe community for our residents and businesses,” says Surrey Board of Trade CEO Anita Huberman. “The Surrey Board of Trade celebrates the work of the Surrey RCMP because they do excellent work in ensuring the safety of our city and our businesses. Their jobs are not easy. Their innovation, work ethic, cross-collaboration, makes the Surrey RCMP leaders in Canada. In this 21st annual event, the Surrey Board of Trade is proud to celebrate the Surrey RCMP in this unique event in Canada."


Dressed in red serge uniforms, many members along with Surrey’s Auxiliary officers, civilian employees and volunteers joined members of Surrey’s business community to celebrate those chosen by their peers and the public as those most worthy to receive the two Police Officer of the Year awards, as well as awards for top Auxiliary Officer, most deserving municipal employee working with the police service, top volunteer and business partner.  Master of Ceremonies Steve Darling of Sportsnet 650 kept the evening going with many laughs.


The 400-person gathering was addressed by Assistant Commissioner Dwayne McDonald, Officer in Charge of the Surrey RCMP, and Surrey Mayor Linda Hepner. Keynote speaker Jim Zorn of the Seattle Seahawks captivated the audience with his experience of leadership, team work and overcoming obstacles.


The winners were judged in the areas of: innovation, commitment, contribution and perseverance. Partial proceeds from the event go towards the RCMP Youth Academy. The Surrey RCMP Detachment, the largest in Canada and second largest municipal force in BC, has over 650 officers and hundreds of support staff.


2017 Surrey Police Officer of the Year Award Winners: (full descriptions are noted below):


Arnold Silzer Community Policing Initiative Award: Surrey Outreach Team


Police & Business Partnership Award: Stephen Boyd


Municipal Employee of the Year Award: Amanda Schenk


Volunteer of the Year Award: James Ram


Auxiliary Constable of the Year Award: Auxiliary Constable Karen Summers


Police Team Award: Youth Section


Police Officer of the Year Award - Nominated by Peers: Sergeant Heather Matthew


Police Officer of the Year Award - Nominated by Community: Sergeant Winston Shorey