Saturday, June 22, 2024

The Engineer’s Gala

07 Feb, 2018
The Society of Punjabi Engineers and Technologists of British Columbia (SPEATBC), a non-profit organization, held its 22nd Anniversary fundraising event - The Engineer's Gala at the Aria Banquet Hall in Surrey on Saturday, 27th January 2018.
Well over 450 guests including business leaders, dignitaries and regulatory bodies like ASTTBC and Engineers & Geoscientists British Columbia, attended the event.
SPEATBC has been fortunate to receive this year’s Title sponsorship from Mr. KD Khairah of Destinationone Consulting Inc. Sponsorships from various other companies were generously collected with fundraising amount over $31,000 that will help run various events throughout the year.
The event started off with Kahoot, a very interactive game, organized by our host Jimmy Hansra; with the first prize going out to Pravin Kumar from CIBC Wood Gundy, one of SPEATBC’s Platinum sponsors for the last five years.
Various entertainment items were showcased including Bhangra from the BC Cultural Bhangra Academy, Bollywood dance by SFU girls and well-known singers from the community. Many door prizes were drawn out throughout the evening.
Our Keynote speaker - Dr Kanwal Singh Neel, gave an inspirational speech, highlighting the importance of relationships. He is a well-known personality, bestowed with number of accolades over the years. Host of the award winning TV series “Math Shop”, he certainly knows how to get kids to learn Math in a fun way.
Kudos to the current Executive team, led by the President – Mr. Ravinder Singh and Vice President Mr. Racy Sidhu for collaborating together and putting up a spectacular show recognizing our youth leadership by awarding scholarships to the deserving candidates.
Scholarship winners were announced by SPEATBC’s first woman past President Jessie Hundal - five deserving candidates received $1000 each in the following categories:
1.    Entrance Scholarship - Harpriya Kaur Gill
2.    Post-Secondary - Dhruv Mahajan
3.    New Immigrant - Gurkirat Sital
4.    International - Gaurav Kaila 
5.    Women in Engineering - Kritika Joshi
The New Executive team is to be nominated at the upcoming Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday, 17th February 2018. For more details, check out SPEATBC’s website.